Cork’s under 20s advance to Munster final

Cork booked their place in the final of the Munster under 20 Hurling Championship final with a stunning second half fight back against Tipperary last night.

The Premier lead by six points at the break, 1-13 to 0-10, with the Rebels turning things around to go on and win 3-20 to 2-17 in the Thurles sunshine – Cork will now face Limerick in next week’s decider.

Cork boss Pat Ryan was thrilled with how his players responded in the second half, and says the second half substitutes provided the spark for the win.

“Our subs off the bench were absolutely superb. Fellas are disappointed when they’re not playing, and to see that attitude out of fellas when they come on and work hard and make the right decisions and unselfish decisions, that’s what we’re asking them to do all the time.

“I think probably putting Brian Hayes into centre forward made a bit of a difference, it gave us a bit more of a target.

“We know Brian can play inside at full forward, but we probably lost a bit of our strength out around the half forward line.

“We were delighted with our performance tonight, fellas put in a savage effort. It’s great for fellas who were on our 35 from last year’s panel, and look we had to try and put that to bed.

“They put an awful lot of shift in over the last 18 months without much reward of getting game time,  and you saw how the likes of Kevin Moynihan, Robbie Cotter and Daniel Hogan who all played today, and Ethan Twomey as well, Luke Horgan who came on and got a fantastic goal – very proud of these guys.

“We didn’t;t even talk about Shane Barrett and Alan Connolly, they’re great fellas and we wish them the best of luck on Saturday and hopefully they’ll make a good contribution to Cork beating Clare on Saturday.

“We have very good hurlers, and that gave two fellas an opportunity to play, and another two fellas to be on the panel, we’re out against Limerick now on Wednesday which will be a huge game, but we’ll savour this victory tonight.”


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



0:00 0:00