Cork Big Winner At All-Ireland Pride Of Place Community Awards

Cork City’s Migrant Centre Young Person’s Anti-Racism Group and the Traveller Women’s Network were both winners at the all-Ireland Pride of Place community awards on Monday evening.

And in a great night for the county, Ballinadee Community Hall Development Association also took top prize in the Population 0-300 category.

The awards, hosted by RTE’s Marty Whelan, took place in Kerry’s INEC centre with 400 community volunteers in attendance.

Cork Migrant Centre’s youth programme took top spot in the Community Based Youth Led Initiative category with Judges praising them for “their work in enhancing the emotional, physical, cognitive, knowledge and skills” of their service users.

“This initiative presented by inspiring young migrants who made Ireland their home deserves recognition and support,” they said.

The Traveller Women’s Group claimed a special award in the Community Resiliance category, and were praised for their efforts to reach out to other organisations.

“Their work is as important now as ever before and the demonstration of inter-agency interaction was also commented on by the judges. The value of the groups work can never be understated, and the judges commented on the learning experience they gained from meeting them.”

Elsewhere, Clogheen Kerry Pike Community Association were nominated for an award in the Urban Neighbourhood with a Population under 3,000 but were to miss out on the night, as was Kilworth Community Council which came runner up in the Population 1,000-2,000 category.

Cork City Council was itself awarded the annual Community Engagement Award, besting 34 other local authorities to lift the gong.

Sponsored by IPB Insurance, the Pride of Place competition was initiated 19 years ago though a Co-operation Ireland programme to acknowledge the invaluable work undertaken by volunteers and those involved in local community development.

It has grown into the largest competition recognising community development achievements on the island of Ireland.

President Michael D. Higgins, who is Joint Patron of Co-operation Ireland with Queen Elizabeth, said the awards played an important role.

“The Pride of Place awards are a most important initiative, reminding us that creating societies that are ethical and inclusive is a task for all of our citizens, of all ages and circumstances.”

Pride of Place founder and Chairman Tom Dowling said; “These Awards continue to be as important as ever as we are about to start judging the 20th year of the competition. The purpose of the awards has never changed. They are about recognising and celebrating the extraordinary, inspirational, and tireless work being done by communities all over the island of Ireland as they strive to make their place a better place in which to live.”

Dr Christopher Moran, Chairman of Co-operation Ireland said: “Co-operation Ireland has no other programme that embodies the charity’s ethos better than Pride of Place.

“We work to build relationships across the island and Pride of Place plays a critical role in that work. The impact the awards have had in towns and villages across the island since they started in 2003 cannot be underestimated, and the continuing success of the awards is down to the dedicated volunteers and their love of where they live.

George Jones Chairman, IPB Insurance said: “The IPB Pride of Place Awards are an ideal platform to recognise the positive social impacts being made in communities across the island of Ireland. I would like to take this opportunity to commend all the communities involved for their spirit of collaboration and camaraderie in making it to the finals.

“It is also important to recognise the role of local authorities across the island of Ireland who work closely with their communities to support inspiring voluntary initiatives. These awards serve as one of the important ways that we can recognise those involved in working to make a difference in society”.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



0:00 0:00