Cork goalkeeper included in minor football team of the year

Cork Goalkeeper Daniel Walsh has been named on the 2021 Electric Ireland minor football team of the year.

The Douglas netminder is the sole member of the Rebels team that lost to Tyrone in the All Ireland semi final to be included

All Ireland champions Meath have 8 representatives, Tyrone 5, while Cork and Sligo have one each, while Meath defender Conor Ennis was named footballer of the year.

Uachtarán CLG Larry McCarthy said:

“I would like to congratulate the Electric Ireland Minor Football Team of the Year and specifically Conor Ennis, the Electric Ireland Minor Football Player of the Year, on their achievements during the 2021 Minor Football season.

“The level of talent on display during this year’s Minor Football Championship has been incredible and I have no doubt many of these young men will go on to have a significant impact on their counties for many years to come. It has been a privilege to watch them perform to such a high level during the 2021 season.

“A special thanks also goes to the parents of all Minor players and also the coaches who have moulded and mentored these young men into the people they are today.

“I would also like to congratulate the Moynalty/Carnaross Minor panel who went above and beyond for their local community by raising life changing funds for Jigsaw. They epitomise what the Minor Championships is about and they are a credit to our great games.”

2021 Electric Ireland GAA Minor Football Team of the Year

1.     Daniel Walsh (Cork and Douglas)

2.     Conor Ennis (Meath and Ballinabrackey)

3.     Liam Kelly (Meath and Ratoath)

4.     Callan Kelly (Tyrone and Cookstown)

5.     Tomás Corbett (Meath and Ratoath)

6.     Shea O’Hare (Tyrone and Ardboe)

7.     Shaun Leonard (Meath and Naomh Colmcille)

8.     Ruairí McHugh (Tyrone and Coalisland)

9.     Jack Kinlough (Meath and St Peter’s, Dunboyne)

10.  Cormac Devlin (Tyrone and Ardboe)

11.  Seán Emmanuel (Meath and St Patrick’s)

12.  Ronan Cassidy (Tyrone and Donaghmore)

13.  Hughie Corcoran (Meath and Drumbaragh Emmets)

14.  Oisín Ó Murchú (Meath and Naomh Colmcille)

15.  Luke Marren (Sligo and Bunninadden)


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



0:00 0:00