Cork vs Kerry Munster SFC Semi-Final Moved to Killarney

Cork have had to give up home advantage in this years Munster football semi final clash against Kerry 

The Munster CCC has officially moved the tie to Fitzgerald Stadium in Killarney.

The game was originally set for Páirc Uí Chaoimh but the stadium won’t be available.

Páirc Uí Rinn then was deemed unsuitable due to its capacity.

It’s been agreed that the next two meetings between the counties will take place at Páirc Uí Chaoimh.

A statement from Munster GAA was released last night:

“At a meeting of the Munster CCC held this evening (Wednesday March 30th), the venue for the Munster Senior Football Semi-Final between Cork and Kerry was discussed. The game was originally fixed for Páirc Uí Rinn given the unavailability of Páirc Uí Chaoimh, in the expectation that Páirc Uí Rinn would hold 15,000 spectators.  Following an independent statutory annual health and safety inspection which identified a number of issues at the ground, the capacity was reduced to 9,200 and even If all of the required works are completed on time, the maximum capacity that can be achieved at the venue is 11,000.


Given the average attendance of the last 3 Cork v Kerry matches in the Munster Senior Football Championship held at Páirc Uí Chaoimh is in excess of 22,000, (not including the Covid restricted match in 2020), Munster Council decided to move the 2022 Munster Semi-Final between the teams to Fitzgerald Stadium Killarney on Saturday May 7th at the earlier start time of 6pm. It is also expected that this game will form a double header with Munster LFGA (further details to follow).


Based on the long-standing home and away agreement between Kerry and Cork, following on from this year’s game in Killarney, the next two meetings of the counties in the Munster Senior Football Championship will take place at Páirc Uí Chaoimh.  A similar arrangement was successfully used during the recent redevelopment of Páirc Uí Chaoimh.”



Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



0:00 0:00