Ireland name team for Japan clash

Johnny Sexton is poised to win a 100th cap for Ireland this weekend. 

The out-half has been named to captain Andy Farrell’s side from out-half for the clash with Japan on Saturday. 

Jamison Gibson Park is preferred to Conor Murray at scrum half. 

Tadhg Furlong will win his 50th cap, while Andrew Porter starts a first international at loosehead.

All in all there are 12 Leinster players in the 15, with Munster’s Andrew Conway and Tadhg Beirne and Connacht’ss Bundee Aki the only non Blues players in the starting line up.

15. Hugo Keenan (Leinster/UCD) 13 caps14. Andrew Conway (Munster/Garryowen) 25 caps13. Garry Ringrose (Leinster/UCD) 34 caps12. Bundee Aki (Connacht/Galwegians) 31 caps11. James Lowe (Leinster) 6 caps10. Johnny Sexton (Leinster/St Mary’s College) 99 caps CAPTAIN9. Jamison Gibson Park (Leinster) 10 caps


1. Andrew Porter (Leinster/UCD) 37 caps2. Ronan Kelleher (Leinster/Lansdowne) 13 caps3. Tadhg Furlong (Leinster/Clontarf) 49 caps4. Tadhg Beirne (Munster/Lansdowne) 22 caps5. James Ryan (Leinster/UCD) 37 caps6. Caelan Doris (Leinster/St Mary’s College) 9 caps7. Josh van der Flier (Leinster/UCD) 32 caps8. Jack Conan (Leinster/Old Belvedere) 20 caps


Replacements 16. Dan Sheehan (Leinster/Lansdowne)*17. Cian Healy (Leinster/Clontarf) 109 caps18. Finlay Bealham (Connacht/Buccaneers) 16 caps19. Iain Henderson (Ulster/Academy) 63 caps20. Peter O’Mahony (Munster/Cork Constitution) 76 caps21. Conor Murray (Munster/Garryowen) 89 caps22. Joey Carbery (Munster/Clontarf) 24 caps23. Keith Earls (Munster/Young Munster) 93 caps
Tagged as


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



0:00 0:00