Ireland squad named for World Cup qualifiers

Republic of Ireland boss Stephen Kenny has named a 26 player squad for the upcoming World Cup qualifiers against Portugal and Luxembourg.

Captain Seamus Coleman returns after missing the games with Azerbaijan and Qatar due to injury.

Cork’s Alan Browne returns after suspension, as does Jayson Molumby.

Also included are Cork’s Caoimhin Kelleher, John Egan, Conor Hourihane, Adam Idah and Chiedozie Ogbene.

Ireland are set to face Portugal at a sold-out Aviva Stadium on Thursday, November 11 before flying to Luxembourg for their final FIFA 2022 World Cup qualifying match on Sunday, November 14.

Republic of Ireland Squad – Portugal & Luxembourg Goalkeepers: Caoimhin Kelleher (Liverpool), Gavin Bazunu (Portsmouth, on loan from Manchester City), Mark Travers (AFC Bournemouth).Defenders: Seamus Coleman (Everton), Matt Doherty (Tottenham Hotspur), Ryan Manning (Swansea City), Enda Stevens (Sheffield United), James McClean (Wigan Athletic), Shane Duffy (Brighton and Hove Albion), John Egan (Sheffield United), Andrew Omobamidele (Norwich City), Nathan Collins (Burnley). Midfielders: Conor Hourihane (Sheffield United, on loan from Aston Villa), Josh Cullen (Anderlecht), Jeff Hendrick (Newcastle United), Jason Knight (Derby County), Jayson Molumby (West Bromwich Albion, on loan from Brighton and Hove Albion), Alan Browne (Preston North End), Jamie McGrath (St. Mirren).Forwards: Callum Robinson (West Bromwich Albion), Troy Parrott (MK Dons, on loan from Tottenham Hotspur), Adam Idah (Norwich City), James Collins (Cardiff City), Will Keane (Wigan Athletic), Chiedozie Ogbene (Rotherham United), Daryl Horgan (Wycombe Wanderers).Fixtures – FIFA 2022 World Cup Qualifying 11/11 – Republic of Ireland v Portugal – Aviva Stadium, 7.45pm14/11 – Luxembourg v Republic of Ireland – Stade de Luxembourg, 7.45pm


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



0:00 0:00