No Cork players in hurling All Star team

The PWC GAA/GPA Hurling All Star team has been named – and no Cork player features in it.

All Ireland champions Limerick Dominate with a record breaking 12 players in the team, breaking the record of 9 which they had gotten last year. 

Kilkenny goalkeeper Eoin Murphy, Waterford defender Conor Prunty and Clare forward Tony Kelly the only non limerick players included.

All Irreland finalists Cork had 8 nominees, Mark Coleman, Patrick Collins, Robert Downey, Seamus Harnedy, Patrick Horgan, Jack O’Connor, Seán O’Donoghue, and Tim O’Mahony however no player was selected on the All Star team.

It’s the first time since the awards were launched in 1971 that a player from the beaten All Ireland finalists has not been included in the All Star team in either code. 

PwC All-Stars Hurling 2021

(Previous winning years in brackets)

1. Eoin Murphy (Glenmore, Kilkenny) (2016, ’18)

2. Seán Finn (Bruff, Limerick) (2018, ’19, ’20)

3. Conor Prunty (Abbeyside, Waterford)

4. Barry Nash (South Liberties, Limerick)

5. Diarmaid Byrnes (Patrickswell, Limerick) (2020)

6. Declan Hannon (Adare, Limerick) (2018)

7. Kyle Hayes (Kildimo/Pallaskenry, Limerick) (2020)

8. Will O’Donoghue (Na Piarsaigh, Limerick)

9. Darragh O’Donovan (Doon, Limerick)

10. Gearoid Hegarty (St Patrick’s, Limerick) (2020)

11. Cian Lynch (Patrickswell, Limerick) (2018, 2020)

12. Tom Morrissey (Ahane, Limerick) (2020)

13. Tony Kelly (Ballyea, Clare) (2013, ’20)

14. Seamus Flanagan (Feohanagh-Castlemahon, Limerick)

15. Peter Casey (Na Piarsaigh, Limerick)


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



0:00 0:00