O’Mahony Returns For Munster Second Leg Against Exeter

The Munster team has been named ahead of Saturday’s Champions Cup Round of 16 knock-out clash against Exeter Chiefs at Thomond Park (3pm).

Captain Peter O’Mahony, Joey Carbery, Josh Wycherley, John Ryan and Simon Zebo come into the starting XV as Head Coach Johann van Graan makes five changes to the team that lost 13-8 at Sandy Park last week.

O’Mahony (hamstring), Carbery (leg/knee) and Zebo (illness) were all unavailable last week.

Mike Haley starts at full-back with Keith Earls and Zebo on either flank.

Damian de Allende and Chris Farrell continue their centre partnership with Conor Murray and Carbery in the half-backs.

Josh Wycherley, Niall Scannell and John Ryan pack down in the front row with Jean Kleyn and Fineen Wycherley in the engine room.  It’s the first time the Wycherley brothers start together in Europe.

O’Mahony, John Hodnett and Jack O’Donoghue complete the starting XV as a positional switch sees O’Donoghue move to no.8.

Stephen Archer is among the replacements and in line to make his 50th Champions Cup appearance.

Diarmuid Barron has recovered from illness to join the squad with Alex Kendellen moving to the bench having completed the return to play protocols.

Munster: Mike Haley; Keith Earls, Chris Farrell, Damian de Allende, Simon Zebo; Joey Carbery, Conor Murray; Josh Wycherley, Niall Scannell, John Ryan; Jean Kleyn, Fineen Wycherley; Peter O’Mahony (C), John Hodnett, Jack O’Donoghue.

Replacements: Diarmuid Barron, Jeremy Loughman, Stephen Archer, Jason Jenkins, Thomas Ahern, Craig Casey, Ben Healy, Alex Kendellen.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



0:00 0:00