Republic of Ireland squad for World Cup named

Vera Pauw has named her Republic of Ireland squad for the World Cup.

Cork’s Megan Connolly and Denise O’Sullivan are included, however Saoirse Noonan also misses out.

Aoife Mannion and Megan Campbell aren’t included, they had been struggling with injury.

Also missing out are Leanne Kiernan and Jamie Finn.

Pauw has decided to bring three goalkeepers – who are Courtney Brosnan, Grace Moloney and Megan Walsh.

The defenders that will be on the plane are Heather Payne, Aine O’Gorman, Niamh Fahey, Louise Quinn, Diane Caldwell, Claire O’Riordan, Megan Connolly, Chloe Mustaki and Izzy Atkinson.

The midfielders selected are captain Katie McCabe, Denise O’Sullivan, Lily Agg, Ruesha Littlejohn, Ciara Grant, Sinead Farrelly and Lucy Quinn.

And Pauw has picked the following forwards – Kyra Carusa, Amber Barrett, Marissa Sheva and Abbie Larkin.

It’s believed Jamie Finn, Harriett Scott and goalkeeper Sophie Whitehouse make up a three strong standby list.

The ‘Girls in Green’ kick off their campaign against co-hosts Australia in Sydney on July 20th.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



0:00 0:00